top of page

Doors of Cedarburg, 

November 19, 2014 - February 22, 2015

The Cedarburg Art Museum opened its first juried exhibition, Doors of Cedarburg, on November 19, 2014. As highly successful, community participatory exhibition, it featured the works of forty-two Wisconsin artists whose diverse depictions of doorways in a variety of media reveal the historic and contemporary essence of Cedarburg.  

Images, L to R:

Bruce Hustad, The Annex, Charcoal Drawing

Lynne Ruehl, Founders' Spiritual Doors,


Allen Eickberg, Stepping Out, 

Patrick Doughman, Old Smoke House,

   Columbia Court,  Egg Tempera Painting

Awards were determined by a 4-person jury headed by Tom Lidtke, retired director of the Museum of Wisconsin Art.  Jurors met twice; first to review digital entries to the exhibition and admit artists and their works, and later to decide on award winners after accepted artworks were received at the museum. 


In the opening reception at the museum, Lidtke explained the jurors’ choices.  “We were looking first and foremost for creativity, both in terms of approach to the theme and media.”  Secondly jurors were concerned with design, composition and color use, he said.  Lidtke also indicated that technical expertise with the media of choice was considered.  He further indicated that the essence of Cedarburg’s character can be found in this unique exhibition featuring close-up views of historic door latches and locks, an old smoke house, a barrel maker’s cottage, various interpretations of historic church portals and more that make up today’s community with its historic architectural presence.  

Best of Show: Diane Boer Henke, The Heart of Cedarburg, ceramic

The Best of Show designation was awarded to Cedarburg ceramic artist Diane Boer Henke for her metaphorical interpretation of the theme.  Her creation, The Heart of Cedarburg, features a “door” to an anthropomorphic creature’s interior self.  First place winner Kerstin von Wardenburg of Cedarburg constructed an assemblage with a door opening to a mirrored interior with interchangeable back panels featuring paintings of various historic landmarks in Cedarburg.  Nancee Ariagno of Cedarburg created a punch needle interpretation of her own Columbia Road home in a former barrel maker’s stone workshop and was awarded second place for The Cooperage.


The quality of the works to the Doors of Cedarburg exhibition necessitated three Honorable Mention awards.  Patrick Doughman also worked close to his Cedarburg home to create Old Smoke House – Columbia Court for his award-winning painting in egg tempera.  Cedarburg’s Bruce Hustad created a charcoal drawing, The Schroeder House, as a study in shades of white, black and greys that highlight the architectural details of the Cedarburg main street landmark.  Bayside artist Judith Gahn Murphy created an abstract watercolor and collage, Reflections from a Door, for her award-winning work.

Visitors to the museum voted for their favorite work by ballot to create a People’s Choice Award that was awarded to Grafton artist Soraya Villarreal.  Villarreal’s “Trinity” is an abstract work that takes the Gothic elements of a Lutheran church doorway as the start point for her painterly approach to layers of colors, shapes and forms. 


The Doors of Cedarburg jury admitted 92 works to the exhibition. The exhibition committee hung 80 pieces in its first dynamic exhibition, with promise of more juried shows in the upcoming years.

Full list of participating artists:

Meredith Adams, Nancy Ariango, Elizabeth Bigham, Erin Callahan Blum, Diane Henke Boer, Nan Burger, Catherine Carlin, Art Dahlke, Liz Decker, Patrick Doughman, Alan Eickberg, Susan Hale, Walter Healey, Rob Helf, Kerry Gebhardt Hill, Joan Hollnagel, Janet Hubbard, Julianne Hunter, Bruce Hustad, Judith Kervin, Julie Koch, Mary Ellen Mueller, Judith Gahn Murphy, Julia Nawrot, Sandra Pape, Christine Plichta, Jason Prigge, Tom Pscheid, Cherie Raffel, Lynn Rix, Lynne Ruehl, Pam Rushman, Jim Selle, Mark Stall, Susan Steinhafel, Michelle Savas Thompson, Soraya Villareal, Kerstin Von Wardenberg, Helen Waldschmidt, Michele Darling Ward, Bard Wagner, Clarey Wamhoff

First Place: Kerstin von Wardenburg, Thor, driftwood assemblage
bottom of page